Chitosanases: Cleavage specificity

The specificity of linkage recognition for various chitinolytic and chitosanolytic enzymes was usually investigated using 20-30%-acetylated chitosan as substrate. So far, the enzymes can be classified into five categories. Chitosanase classification into three distinct types was proposed by Fukamizo et al. (22)

Bacterial chitinase
(family 18) (23)
Bacterial chitinase
(family 19)
Streptomyces griseus HUT 6037 (24)

Type I
Bacillus pumilus BN-262 (22)
Penicillium islandicum (25)
Streptomyces sp. N174 (26)
Type II
Bacillus sp. No 7-M (27)
Type III
Streptomyces griseus HUT 6037 (28)
Bacillus circulans MH-K1 (29)
Nocardia orientalis (30)
Bacillus circulans WL-12* (8)

* This enzyme was previously reported as b-1,3-1,4-glucanase (8).
(Linkage orientation: the future non-reducing end in oligosaccharide product is on right, and the future reducing end is on the left.)
(the symbols used in this chart were previously explained here)

Return to previous section | Go to the next section | Return to index.

This page was created by Ryszard Brzezinski and Andrzej Neugebauer.
Questions? Proposals? Comments? Write to
Last updated: 1999/02/06